Student Voice Awards


The Student Voice Awards celebrate and recognise individuals who have enhanced student experience, education and equality at the University of Leicester. This is a chance for both students and University staff to reflect on a past academic year and the achievements of our student leaders, be they Academic Reps (i.e. Course Reps and Department Reps), Students' Union Reps, Equality and Liberation Champions, Part-time Officers or students who regularly engage in SU events and campaigns.

We found ourselves in the position of having the awards ceremony, once again online on Thursday 27 May 2021 at 4.00pm on Students' Union Facebook channel. Submissions for the awards opened on Thursday 1 April, and closed on Sunday 25 April 2021.

The Student Voice Awards were be split into four sections, three focused on student leaders:  

  • Academic Representation Awards, which celebrate the achievements of your Course Reps and Department Reps and the progress made across the academic year.  
  • Democracy and Liberation Awards, which recognise all of the incredible efforts made by Equality and Liberation Champions, Students’ Union Representatives, Part-Time Officers and lay students advocating for marginalised groups, to deliver campaigns for the underrepresented students.  
  • Students’ Union Awards, which recognise all of the incredible efforts made by any student leaders, to deliver campaigns for the wider student interest.
  • Our fourth section is dedicated to the Superstar Awards, where staff receive recognition  for going above and beyond supporting students, addressing queries, or providing excellent service.  Winners were be announced during the Student Voice Awards Ceremony.


If you have any questions regarding the awards, please feel free to email


Student Voice Awards 2021


Student Voice Awards Winners 2021


Name of the Winner Category
Bianca Semczuk College of Life Sciences Academic Rep of the Year
Hannah Amliwala College of Science Engineering Academic Rep of the Year
Pedram Bani Asadi College of Social, Science, Art and Humanities Academic Rep of the Year
Saahibah Chowdhury Equality and Liberation Champion of the Year
Naila Abid Event of the Year
Charlie Hughil Liberation Advocate
Niamh Barnes Most Impactful Officer Project
Alex Talbot-Wilson Most Impactful Academic Rep
Joy Shangobiyi Most Impactful Academic Rep
Zoe Newnham New Academic Rep
Nic Farmer Part Time Officer of the Year
Rhiannon Jenkins Student Activist
Sarah Ezzeddine Rising Star
Tanvi Sinha Outstanding Contribution
Emma Westbrook Students’ Union Rep of the Year
Disinvestment Campaign Campaign of the Year
Andrew Hudson Best Lecturer
Jon Lapington Best Supervisor
Mark Simmons Best Supporting Staff
Eleanor Swan Best Personal Tutor
Vrushant Lakhani Best Personal Tutor
Barbara  Powell Best Implementer of Student Feedback
Brett Matulis Most Inclusive Practice
Krishan Kulkarni Best GTA



Student Voice Awards Winners 2020


Student Voice Awards 2020


Academic Rep Awards  
New Academic Rep Tawny Barden
Most impactful Academic Rep  Angela Schmitz
Most improved Academic Rep  Maria Prescott
College of Science Engineering Academic Rep of the Year   Arina Ovcinnikova
College of Social Science, Art and Humanities Academic Rep of the Year   Emma Westbrook
College of Life Sciences Academic Rep of the Year   Aqua Asif
Course Rep of the Year   Michelle Sutton
Department Rep of the Year  Jess Campbell
Superstar Awards  
Best Graduate Teaching Assistant  Karishma Joshi
Best Personal Tutor Emma Parker
Best Supervisor  Georgio Mistriotis
Best Practice in Inclusive Learning and Teaching Charlotte Langley
Best Implementer of Student Feedback. Richard Holland
Best Support Staff Member Karen Sylvester
Best Lecturer.  Leena Sodha 
Highly commended Mathew Allen and Karim Mualla. 

As we received over 370 staff nominations, you can find the complete list of Superstar nominees here 

Students’ Union awards  
Equality and Liberation Champion of the Year Tom Klaus 
Outstanding Contribution Maeva Kamtcheu
Rising Star Catherine Weaver
Champion for Change Tosin Mayomi
Campaign of the Year Ola Dalek  
Event of the Year Thariq Maulana
Student Activist Ariana Lambert
Most Impactful Officer Project  Nate Searson
 Part Time Officer of the Year Tasha Krywald 
Social Impact Thomas Oliver
Liberation Advocate Connor Burchell
Students’ Union Rep of the Year Bianca Semczuk 
Highly Commended Pelumi Obasaju  


You can find the list with all our Student Nominees here



Student Voice Awards Winners 2019

Course Rep of the Year

Angela Schmitz

Most Impactful Course Rep

Peace Ituku

New Course Rep

Maryam Durojaiye

Most Improved Course Rep

Poppy Crow

Course Rep of the Year for Social Sciences, Art and Humanities

Bhavini Amin

Course Rep of the Year for Life Sciences

Sam Forbes-Fairfax

Course Rep of the Year for Science and Engineering

Thomas Newman

Lead Union Rep of the Year

Kieran Roberts

Social Impact Award

Karli Wagener

Equality & Liberation Champion of the Year

Emma Westbrook

Departmental Impact Award

Connor Burchell

Champion for Change

Sana Ali

Part-Time Officer of the Year

Sandra Tetteh

Most Impactful Officer Project

Jay Cavanagh

Campaign of the Year

Benjamin Bennett

Event of the Year

Tony Magaia

Outstanding Contribution

Tom Klaus

Outstanding Dedication

Lilli Helps

Rising Star

Pedram Bani Asadi

Student Activist

Adnan Rahman

Equality Advocate

Doyin Oreagba


Congratulations to all our award winners and nominees - we can't wait to see what you do next.


Please visit our facebook page to view photos from the SVA2019 event.


University of Leicester Students' Union
Percy Gee Building
University of Leicester
University Road, Leicester, LE1 7RH
Write to Us: Email

Powered by MSL

The University of Leicester Students' Union is a registered charity no. 1137811 and a company limited by guarantee registered in England no. 7303101